The Danger of Putting your Dream on a Pedestal

As someone who thinks of dreams, who lives for dreams, who worries over dreams, who endlessly talks about dreams…I naturally live my life around my dreams. Many would say that’s a good focus to have, and it is. But too much of a good thing is too much of a good thing. At some point I realized that I had reached a dangerous zone of idolization.

Leviticus 19:4 says “Do not turn to idols or make for yourselves any gods of cast metal: I am the Lord your God.” Our minds initially go to physical idols, like statues. The Bible is indeed addressing these, but we forget that it’s also addressing intangible idols that we can set up in our minds. This can be anything, and anything that begins to take God’s place in our thoughts and attention ultimately becomes an idol. The scary thing is, this can go unnoticed because it’s not directly in front of our eyes.

After a serious bout of stress because I had convinced myself that my dreams were never going to be fulfilled, I realized I had risen my dreams to a level on the verge of obsession. It became harmful to my mental life, my daily habits, and my relationship with God.

During those times when it seems like our dreams are on hold or they look bleak and impossible, perhaps that’s the season of character building. As I’ve said before, Character comes before dreams, Character is more important, Character is God’s greatest concern for us.

By all means, follow your dreams. Pursue them with passion and persistence. But beware of putting them on a pedestal and obsessing over them. It will just make you an anxious, bitter, dissatisfied person. Nothing good comes from obsessing, even when the topic is a positive one.

 

Leave a reply

