You’re Never Too Old…or Too Young

You’re never too old to set another goal or to dream a new dream.

-C. S. Lewis

 

Did you know C. S. Lewis was in his fifties when he wrote The Chronicles of Narnia? For several years before that, as young as his twenties, he had many inspirations for the books, either as visions in his mind or random collections of words, yet he didn’t get around to finally making the stories real until he was well into the season that some would call retirement. He was a man and a writer determined to never let age be a factor when it came to following dreams.

I am still young, considerably, and so what am I doing thinking of getting too old for new dreams? But when I think about this quote (one of my favorites, naturally), I don’t just think about it in terms of physical age. Already I’ve had the thoughts that I missed my chance at certain goals because I went past the ideal time of life. Ever since I was twelve I had the tendency to think and act beyond my age. I never do quite fit in perfectly with my generation because my mind is always five years ahead. I frustrate over believing that I’m supposed to have certain things figured out when in reality it’s not the time to be worrying about it. If I had a dollar for every time I’ve heard the words, “but you’re only ____ years old,” I would have a considerable fund (and as a millennial, I wouldn’t mind the extra cash…). Those words were usually the end cap to an episode of me blubbering on about how I don’t have this done or I haven’t done that yet or I don’t have such-and-such figured out.

Perhaps I think a lot like how Lewis did: age isn’t a factor. If I believe I should have achieved something now, then I should have achieved it now! I think we severely diminish the impact that a 16-year-old or a 60-year-old can have. Too young, too old…what’s all that about? Why does it matter?

When I think of this quote by Lewis, I subconsciously add a little extra to it:

“You’re never too old [or too young]…to dream a new dream.”

Indeed, there are some details that may interfere with progression based on the age of a person, but they are honestly very few. It really all depends on that person. Circumstances can be altered, resources can be found, relationships can be made…and by who?

Why, you of course.

It is not too late, or too early, to move. As a message to the young: true, you are just ___ years old, and there’s no need to worry about that right now. Find the things that are practical to worry about right now, and focus on that.

For the older: The past is gone, yes, but did you know opportunities never are? They simply change with the times. They adapt, grow, and flex to adhere to the current world. Go find them; they’ll probably look different, but they’re still there.

Leave a reply

