A Poem A Week #27

Being Different has its Perks

They always said

It’s what was done.

How dare I think

I’m the only one

To change things up

And feel no shame.

I set a course

To make a name

For myself and for my work.

Being different has its perks.

 

When all my friends

Went off to school,

I stood aside

And played the fool.

Or so they thought.

And while they fret,

I played it smart

And avoided debt.

Now they see me and wonder why

My pockets aren’t burning dry.

 

I find it stupid

And quite absurd

What college costs.

I transferred!

“Now who’s the fool?”

I ask, carefree.

But I shouldn’t judge.

We all learn slowly.

 

Catherine Joy

Leave a reply

