A Poem A Week #17

If there’s one thing I remember

If there’s one thing I remember,
It is your fire red hair.
How tossled it was,
Never combed,
And you’d brush your fingers
Through your bangs.
If there’s one thing I remember,
It is the heroes that you drew.
Superman, Aquaman,
Batman on every page.
How happy you were
To show everyone.
Most smiled and nodded
Out of courtesy.
But I loved it; I loved it all.
If there’s one thing I remember,
It is the last time you called,
And we were tired.
You wanted to go to church.
And I didn’t let you talk;
I snuck away from the phone.
All you wanted was to talk.
I loved your voice, I really did.
If I could but hear it now,
I’d let you talk forever.

Catherine Joy

Leave a reply

