A Poem A Week #16

Here Are the Words

Taking just a few moments
To say what I say,
A few words in my mouth
That won’t go away.
They’ll spoil and tilt
Until it hurts if I speak.
I’m all upside down
And it’s breaking my teeth.
A wonder I’m around
To still tell a story.
Through my bleeding lips
The words take all the glory.
It’s pulling my hair
And it’s making me numb.
I can’t feel my tongue
If I say something dumb.
So here are the words
That I can’t help to say:
Don’t keep them inside,
Or they’ll kill you one day.

Catherine Joy

4 thoughts on “A Poem A Week #16

Leave a reply

