Being Busy does not equal Faster Achievement

I am not the best multi-tasker. When there’s more than three things going on in my life at once, I usually get overwhelmed and shut down. I like to take things one at a time. And, yet, I tell people that I’m a person who likes to be busy. How does that factor?

I do like activity. That’s why I’m a city girl. I find the noise and activity exciting and exhilarating. I am not a social butterfly, but I am not a homebody. I go crazy being in the house for too many days together. I also go crazy being around people for too long. Either I have a healthy balance or I’m a walking contradiction.

But here’s one thing I’ve learned from all this talk of busyness and activity and tasks: being busy does not equal achievement. It definitely doesn’t equal faster achievement. I’ve seen too much busyness in my life, including from myself, that may have kept a place standing but did not keep it growing. We are not meant to stand still; we are meant to grow, change, adapt. It makes sense why we crave to be busy. It is culturally seen as synonymous with getting things done. And it does get things done, but that’s all it does. Things get done, but nothing really happens. The greatest achievement being busy can achieve is getting us through another week. If that’s all we do, then that’s all we’ll achieve.

Every person that I have encountered that is a jack-of-all-trades kind of person tell me the same thing: they wish they weren’t. They would rather be someone who is really great at one or two things than good at all things. It leads to confusion and lack-of-purpose syndrome. But they can be that person if they hone in on that one thing that they really, truly, enjoy and wish to pursue. Doing many different things may make you well rounded, but it slows down the process of achieving a single, stand-out purpose.

What do you really, really want to do? Who do you really, really want to be? There can only be one answer. It’s a new year, and maybe instead of being busy, perhaps let go of a few extra things that add to the busyness and pursue a single, significant achievement that will result in growth and change. Basically, if some growth hasn’t happened, then it’s time to move on. You can achieve more.

One thought on “Being Busy does not equal Faster Achievement

  1. My pastor actually had a very similar topic not so long ago. Very much true, yet so easy to forget! Slow progress is still progress, as they say. Sometimes you just have to tread water for a while and stick with something rather than going off and finding something else.

    Like

Leave a reply

