Better Things Ahead…

My incessant habit of going incognito at random intervals is one I do not want to continue. With that, I anticipate this beginning of a new year to be a beginning of new habits. Or, rather, the return to better ones.

2015 was, as a strange yet correct attribute, an extraordinary year. It truly was a “year of change.” The end of it sparked a sudden yet much-needed season of moving on for me. I really am in a different place than I was last January 1st. There was plenty I had not yet confronted, challenged, or accomplished. Plenty of personal matters that rocked my world, and plenty of logistical and “adulting” issues I had to grow up and face. But I am so, so happy that I did face them. Even the things that were unsuccessful or are still going on, I am not just happy I finally faced them; I’m relieved. I now get this sense that I can finally move forward, like I was stuck in the mud, and now I have the strength to wiggle my way out onto better ground.

There’s been a tradition amongst the young people at my church to select a specific word at the beginning of a new year that will represent what we will focus on and what we want the year to be revolved around. In 2014, my word was trust. Last year, it was growth. This year…well, I won’t reveal it just yet, because I’m still brooding on it. But I will say this: I want 2016 to be the year when I make my place in the world. I’m not sure yet what that even entails, but that’s what I want. And I’m going to figure out how to make it happen.

Anyway, a new year has begun, everyone will be resolution-ing this and that. Some will manage to make it work, others will give up, some may even succeed all the way through…who will you be? I won’t be stereotypical and say, “You can do it!” Maybe you can’t, and that’s okay. Sometimes making goals is also the process of discovering the ones we can’t achieve just yet, and making healthy adjustments.

Here’s what I will say: have a great year. Doesn’t matter what happens; it’s going to be good 🙂

3 thoughts on “Better Things Ahead…

  1. Can’t help but wish you a few surprises tossed in there to keep the world spicey and full of anticipation on what’s around the corner. May those somethings waiting around the corner fill your life with joy and new inspirations.

    Like

  2. Adulting by it’s nature is a gargantuan task not for the faint of heart.

    It’s true most of our resolutions probably won’t be kept, but sometimes it’s more about the journey than the destination, as they say.

    Like

Leave a reply

