The value of “How can I make it better?”

If we ever want to advance anywhere, we must have a teachable spirit. And we must be a good teacher to ourselves.

With everything I do, I’m always thinking deep in my subconscious, “how can I do it better?” People have called me the energizer bunny; I can’t seem to quit. Even when I have my dark moments and feel like everything is hopeless and I’m screwing everything up, I end up back on my feet and trying again. I’ve literally even tried quitting, and it didn’t last long. And the question that is not too far off when I dry my eyes and re-open the door is: how can I make it better now?

I love this about myself. It has gotten me places. I love that I’m always thinking about this question. It’s a valuable feature that anyone can adopt. When I think, “how can i make it better?” you know what happens? Things get better. My skills improve because I search for ways to improve them. With writing alone, I can see the change of quality since I started back in seventh grade. I don’t like to read my stuff from back then because it’s rubbish! As I read books, I pay close attention to what the author did well and what I think is not so well. I make mental notes: “I can see these places. I need to use more imagery and description in my writing.” “I think they use too many adjectives. I’ll take note of that.” “Paragraphs breaks make a big difference.” “I’m gonna remember to use that sentence structure.”

When it comes to crafting, I take note of what can bring down the quality. Glueing isn’t so good? I invest in better glue and study up on some tips. Stenciling isn’t so good? Practice stenciling. Or maybe use a different method for lettering, one that is cleaner and simpler. Paper keeps coming off? I just brainstormed a method to wrap the paper around the edges, reinforcing its strength. Journal looks cheap from the back? I start covering the back as well.

My skills with social media managing have really advanced. I spend hours researching and reading articles and resources that I apply to my work. Since then I’ve developed the ability to create social media editorial calendars and schedules for businesses and organizations and whatnot. I even do it for myself. I believe I can do better if I know ROI and URL. I search for classes, I find free resources, I teach myself.

I do it with my classes. I struggle with listening comprehension with language? I ask my teacher for ways I can work on that. I listen to foreign films and music, I ask someone to practice a conversation with me. I update my study method if it’s not working for me. How can I do it better?

Even with random hobbies that I dabble in, I think with this question. For example, I love rollerskating. I’m having a hard time with the turns? I watch the more advanced people and observe what they do. And then I teach myself. I enjoy singing. I can’t hold a note? I ask an expert and practice breathing. It’s not even important to me, but the whole goal is, How can I make it better?

Practice having this question in your thoughts. It gives way to creativity and innovation. It makes you a valuable player. People will notice and will want you in the work field.

Think of one thing that you want to advance in. Now, how can you make it better?

One thought on “The value of “How can I make it better?”

  1. Pingback: The value of “How can I make it better?” | mmsddq

Leave a reply

