5 Books that changed my life (and you should read them)

We all have those special books that really made an impact on our lives, and we can never forget the stories. They go through our heads again and again. Here are five books that personally affected me:

The Chronicles of Narnia, by C.S. Lewis. This series is what basically what birthed and defined my interest in writing, and what landed C.S. Lewis as my absolute favorite author. I almost feel as if these books were written just for me. Their beautifully pure aura of magic and childlike adventure whisks even the oldest among us away, and makes us all dream of going to Narnia.

The Book Thief, by Marcus Zusak. Everything about this book was mind-blowing and stirring-deep-in-the-soul. By page three, I was sold. The kind of depth of emotion this novel stirs up, mostly through Zusak’s exquisite writing, is one that sticks with you forever. It’s one of those novels I tell everyone, everyone, to read. You must!

The Silmarillion, by J.R.R. Tolkien. This book amazed me more so for it’s author. This man created not only a fictional world but languages, races, a history, and more. The Silmarillion is literally a history book of a nonexistent world. And this was all in this one man’s mind! That right there is an inspiration to writers.

Surprised by Joy, By C.S. Lewis. This story is amazing and so inspiring, and it’s an autobiography! Whether one shares the faith of Lewis or not, it’s such a beautiful story to learn about. His faith transformation and journey of becoming the writer of The Chronicles of Narnia and other beloved novels are just a few factors that make him my absolute favorite author.

The War of Art, By Steven Pressfield. Playing off the infamous title The Art of War, this book addresses our inner enemies of creativity and discipline. It expresses how to overcome our ambition inhibitions and continually, and successfully, produce and create. Already on board with the philosophy, this book helped me apply the principles and actions that made me a better person.

 

Bonus: The Screwtape Letters, By C.S. Lewis. Yes, another Lewis book, but I did already mention he’s my favorite author. This book, comprised of letters written from a senior demon to his nephew, a demon-in-training charged with the task of the damnation of a particular young man on earth, was eerily and bone-tingling mesmerizing. Not because it was spooky, which it really wasn’t, but because it felt markedly real. It made me think that this really can be the way that demons go about trying to sabotage our eternity.

2 thoughts on “5 Books that changed my life (and you should read them)

Leave a reply

