Today’s the Day: What happens to a dream deferred?

Today is a day I’ve been waiting for. Why?

Today I took my Poetry test for Lit. There was a certain poem I had to study, “Harlem” by Langston Hughes. And it’s first line struck me. “What happens to a dream deferred?”

Today was a day of thinking, “Remember what you came here for?” My dreams play at my mind everyday, throughout the day. They never shut up. ‘What happens to a dream deferred?” Langston Hughes wrote. “Does it dry up like a raisin in the sun?” I can’t seem to forget it…

Do tell me…what happens to a dream deferred? Do you still have a dream clinging to you, refusing to let go? Don’t ignore it. A dream is like a new puppy, playful and innocent, only wanting a little attention. When you give it, then they’re your best friend for life.

Leave a reply

