Starting and Stopping Habits and Pressing On…

Today’s the day I’ve been waiting for. Why?

Today I decided to begin a thirty day system of starting/stopping habits. I listed out some things I want to start doing, or stop doing, on a regular basis, and then picked one to focus on. Today I began a process of going thirty days without watching Netflix or Youtube (the Youtube that I waste my time on), and instead during that time read, or at least do something productive.

Perhaps you’ve heard this kind of story so many times. Someone decides to start/stop a habit, has a plan, and then fails. Well, perhaps I will, perhaps I won’t. I do know that if I slip just one day, then I have to start all over. I haven’t yet thought of a good motivational reward, but I don’t even think I need one. The point is, I probably have a 50/50 chance of failing, but I’m trying…again. We’ve all attempted several times over to start/stop something, but the point is to keep going. Not keep trying, but keep going. 

Today is also a day I learn that I’m making a C in Statistics. Yes, I’m not failing like I thought I was. This C is ugly to look at, but so far i’ve made a C in a class during my time at community college, and so, especially for a math class, this is is not as terrifying as I likely would have thought back in high school (boy, is there a difference…).

What is it about today? It’s another day of getting back up again and claiming inspiration. For the time being that seems to be my every day, but I’ve learned something: I can’t stop. Even when I consciously try, insisting that it’s over, it seems my inner self goes, “Heck no! I’m not done yet.” And so I press on, in that good race….

Why is today a day you’ve been waiting for?

Leave a reply

