A Poem A Day #511

Something about Today

There’s something about today
That made my heart sing.
Perhaps the iridescent glow
Of a purity ring.
Perhaps the tremor of the hard drive,
A buzz that doesn’t cease,
Which I kick with my foot
To get just a little bit of peace.
Perhaps it’s the ache for a smile
Of a person I miss.
Sometimes I sit back in my chair
And I reminisce.
Perhaps it was the “Good morning, Beautiful”
That dinged on my phone.
I smiled like a fool,
But only when I was alone.
Perhaps I remembered
A sad dream from long ago.
I choked back a lump
That only seemed to grow.
Perhaps it was the scent
Of vanilla and lemonade,
Or the fact that instead of going,
I came back and stayed.
There’s something about today
That made my heart sing.
But it’s the type of song
That means everything.

By Catherine Joy

Leave a reply

