A Poem A Day #507

I walk along the edge of a cliff

I walk along the edge of a cliff,
But I do not fall.
A river rages below me,
Roaring, stirring.
I walk the edge of the brink,
But I do not slip away.
A lion walks beside me,
Keeping me from my fall.
There are many things in my way,
And I must tip toe carefully.
It takes all I am
To take another step,
To take another breath.
Every breath may be my last,
But at least with every breath
It is not because it escaped my lips
When I tumbled to my end.
Because, after all,
I walk along the edge of a cliff,
But I do not fall.

By Catherine Joy

At last, I’ve written a poem. Oh, how long it’s been….

Leave a reply

