2015-A Year of Change?

I remember at the beginning of 2014 that I had the sense that it would be a very eventful year. That was just the word that kept rolling around in my head. The only explanation of why I got that feeling, and kept feeling it, would be that it came from the Holy Spirit. And it was true after all. 2014 was a very eventful year, for me and everyone around me, with both good and bad events. I ended the year quite exhausted and overwhelmed. And now, at the beginning of 2015, I have the odd feeling that it’s going to be a year of change. What sort of change? Well that’s the little detail that seems to elude me.

That little thought somewhat unnerves me. News of coming change is always unnerving. But I do feel in my heart that it might all be change that is necessary. At the prompting of a friend, I chose a word that would be my focus of the year, a word that would define what I hoped to grow in and achieve during that year. In 2014 it was trust.

I don’t think I would necessarily choose “change” as my word for 2015. Now, though this may seem vague, I believe it’s a choice word for 2015: growth. More specifically, personal growth. By this word I mean that, in 2015, I really want to grow myself, make myself a better person, strengthen my strengths, attend to my shortcomings, and go after and achieve some dreams. It does seem to cover a broad range, but in a year of change, growth is very important.

This is my statement, for 2015. When I look toward the near future I almost find myself shaking in my boots. There’s something magnificent and life changing up ahead that intimidates me.

But it also excites me 🙂

Leave a reply

