5 Ways I organize myself at Holiday season

Organization, especially at this time, after getting back to Austin and trying to get back into the flow of normal life, has been particularly important to me. At this time of year for everyone, though, keeping yourself organized can suddenly become a vain pursuit. Here are five ways that have helped me organize myself, particularly at this time:

  1. Wunderlist. If you have not discovered this helpful gem yet, you should check it out. I use it all the time, for everything. I love that I can categorize things and assign them to dates. All I have to do is open it up and see what’s to do that day. That little *ding* when I check off a task is satisfying…
  2. Guide for the Year. Since 2012 I started a habit of making a “Guide for the Year” in December. It’s more than a New Year’s Resolution. I create a packet detailing the top 7-10 things I want to focus on for the coming year. For example, my Subject 3 for 2014 was focusing on this blog. Even if I’m not 100% successful at following it, it’s just a helpful guide to show me what to expect and prepare myself for in the next year.
  3. Journaling. Organizing my random thoughts is just as important. This is just another thing that journaling provides for me.
  4. Plan gifts ahead of time. I established what I would do gift-wise a few months ago so that at this time I just had to focus on shopping and making. And I make Christmas shopping a special ordeal. It needs its own set aside time.
  5. Music. Ok, this probably doesn’t make sense with organization, but it just helps me when I have to work on anything. Music really does make anything more enjoyable.
Leave a reply

