5 Things I learned while in Arlington

I fly home to Austin tomorrow, and I am torn. I feel both relieved to go home and sad to leave here. I will miss a lot of things, my sister and niece the most. I have learned a lot, and here are just a few things that I have learned that kind of stick out the most:

  1. How to care for a baby. And I am not half bad at it. I could pretty much do everything as long as there’s another presence there. Also as long as the kid can go down for naps, because with my back I can’t go long with holding them.
  2. I’m not AS clean and organized as I thought, or at least there are people who are actually more cleaner than me. I still feel pretty clean and organized for myself, and I’m okay with that.
  3. That being a burden to people really is my worst and biggest fear. It really kills me a little inside when I get any sense whatsoever that I made someone’s day a little worse.
  4. I am not meant to be far from home. Or alone. At one point I began to feel like I was coming across needy because I was calling and texting people so much. Though it had dulled a little after the first couple weeks, the homesickness never left. It had nothing to do with anything here. I am just too much attached to home. I personally don’t think that’s such a bad thing.
  5. I am miserable without physical touch. Considering it’s my love language, this makes complete sense. I have never craved a hug or a hand to hold or a good cuddle so much before in my life. I have a feeling I’m going to be milking that a lot my first few days home.
Leave a reply

