5 Things I’ve learned as a writer

Since I’ve been writing, it has been one lifelong learning session for me, and I know for a fact it will continue to be a lifelong learning session for as long as I live. Sure, I’ve developed my skills and have seen improvement in my work, but there are other things writing has taught me that I never thought it could.

  1. There’s more to being a writer than just writing. Writing alone does not make you a writer. Well, not unless you look at it differently. Being a writer doesn’t mean you’re a person who makes words that people read. They make stories. And from the history of mankind I think we can say that stories are a highly significant and practically necessary part of our existence. It’s the writers who provide that necessity, just like farmers provide food or doctors provide medical care. 
  2. There’s more to writing than just writing. It’s not just putting words on paper. The process is so much deeper, and I’ve gotten deeper into that process over time. Writing involves being inspired, thinking, planning, brainstorming, outlining, searching, wondering, reading, studying, editing, imagining, creating….I could go on. And I think you get the picture.
  3. Patience is more than a virtue…it’s a necessity. 
Leave a reply

