A Poem A Day #459

A Day to Myself

I once spent a day to myself,
And it was a day I’ll remember.
I was ill, and happy.
My head swarmed with heat,
But there was nothing necessarily 
Wrong with me.
I forgot, for a few hours,
What the sun felt like,
What the wind did to your hair
When it was loose and free.
I was trapped;
Nowhere to go, and no one to see.
I would sit, sit, sit,
And stare at the clock on my phone
Until it was time to take another
Pain pill. 
I was ill, and happy. 
And by five I was unhappy.
That was enough escape.
I needed people.

By Catherine Joy

Leave a reply

