A Poem A Day #305

A Sick Heart

How does one heal
A sick heart?
I could talk all day
But nothing will come of that.
Perhaps a swing
In the sunshine,
A raucous game night?
Sure, if I’m only looking
To be healed one time.
I want something to last,
And no, no silly romance.
After all, at the moment,
There’s not much chance.
A sick heart needs medicine.
Some whispered words
Of tenderness, a lullaby
Of God-send.
I know where to find it.
I need only open my ears,
And I hear,
“I’m right here, for you.”

By Catherine Joy

Leave a reply

