A Poem A Day #235

This is a poem written to my favorite author, C.S. Lewis, who was known as Jack to friends and family. I seek to discover his magic of creating incredible worlds and stories with his writing. Enjoy ^_^

Dear Jack

Dear Jack,

I have so many questions

That I would like to ask.

Let’s just sit for a while

At the Eagle and Child

And have a little chat.

Dear Jack,

I have so many questions

About all the work you’ve done.

There was something about you

That I would like to be too.

Can you teach me…

Just how the world had turned to ice,

How swords were wielded by talking mice,

How the thrum of strings and a mist of green

Could make a prince lose his mind?

Tell me how a beaver talks,

And tell me how the trees can walk,

How a little girl’s tears and fifteen years

Could make an Age as gold as a Lion.

Dear Jack,

I have so many questions

About what it all was like.

So much imagination,

Like my Oxford expectation.

I believe that’s where all the dreams came true.

Dear Jack,

I have so many questions

That I know you could answer.

There’s something special,

Something I could treasure.

Could you teach me…

Just how the world had turned to ice,

How swords were wielded by talking mice,

How the thrum of strings and a mist of green

Could make a prince lose his mind?

Tell me how a beaver talks,

And tell me how the trees can walk,

How a little girl’s tears and fifteen years

Could make an Age as gold as a Lion.

Dear Jack,

I have so many questions

For you.

But I think I’d rather

Sit and gather

All the love

That I know you used.

For nothing came of nothing,

There was something

That I will learn too.

By Catherine Joy

2 thoughts on “A Poem A Day #235

    • Thank you very much! It feels amazing to hear that I am passionate. This indeed was a very special and fun poem to write. Anything C.S. Lewis I immediately feel intimate with. It really is a genuine subject to me 🙂

      Like

Leave a reply

