Have you noticed the sun?

Have you ever noticed the sun? It’s so warm and bright, but you probably already knew that. Of course. Everyone knows the sun is warm and bright. What a silly question to ask. But, actually, perhaps it’s not so silly. After all, I didn’t ask you if you noticed that the sun is warm and bright. I asked if you noticed the sun. Let’s say you did. Let’s say you watched it rise this morning. Actually, nevermind. I wouldn’t know if you did. But I did. I watched it rise this morning. I sat in a chair on my deck and watched it rise this morning. I couldn’t look straight at it, because that would hurt my eyes. Instead, I looked at the grass. I came down from the deck and looked at the grass in the field behind my house, and it was glowing. I bent down and touched the grass, and I noticed it was wet. That’s because there were dew drops on the grass. Then I saw that the sun was full in the sky. I realized that when I noticed the sun, I noticed the grass. I glanced up from the grass and saw a daisy, poking up through the green silky blades. It was pure white. It looked like it was glowing in the sunlight. I bent down in front of it and caressed its chaste petals. Then I sniffed it, and a sweet aroma filled my nose. I smiled, because I realized that when I noticed the sun, I noticed the grass, and when I noticed the grass, I noticed the daisy.

By Catherine Joy

Leave a reply

