A Poem A Day #70

Little Golden Heart

If you want to know,
I’ll tell you that I wear
My heart on my finger.
It’s right there,
Out in the open.
Everyone can see it,
Everyone can see
Where my heart is.
But i’m not married.
I belong to someone special
But i’m not married.
I may never be, even,
But always will I wear my heart
On my dainty little finger.
My little golden heart,
Which I lovingly gaze at
Throughout the day,
Reminds me that I’m bound.
It reminds me that I’m not free,
That I must be careful
With myself. And you
Must be careful too.
Don’t approach a girl
With her heart on her finger.
She’ll approach you
Because only she knows
If she’s free to know you.
But don’t be afraid of me.
I promise to show you
That I’m bound already,
But don’t be afraid of me.
That someone special
Whom I’m bound to
Will let you know
If I can know you.
And, perhaps, if love be true,
Someday you’ll remove
That little golden heart
From my hand
And replace it
With your little golden heart.
And I will still say
That I wear my heart
On my finger.
Everyone will see it
And everyone will know
Where my heart is.

By Catherine Joy

Leave a reply

