A Poem A Day #46

My Home is not…

My home is not,
In a sense you would say,
A Hollywood home.
No store three inches away,
Or the highway so close you can feel the breeze
Of the cars going by.

My home is not,
In a thinking skill,
A party home.
No huge parking
Or billiard rooms.
No hot tubs
Or fancy dinner plates.

My home is not,
In what you may think,
A luxury home.
No eight foot door
With marble pathways.
No coat closet
And three sofas.

My home is,
In what is true to me,
A refreshing home.
With pretty flowers
And swing sets.
An oak tree
And neighborhood cat.

My home is not,
In what people would call it,
A house.
My home is,
In what is blind to many.
A home.

By Catherine Joy

I find the concept of home extremely important. No matter where I live, Austin will always be Home to me. I never liked the thought of people living in houses for just a few years and moving around so much. My family has been in the same house for 22+ years, and it’s still such a great home.

One thought on “A Poem A Day #46

Leave a reply

